Monks Risborough was confirmed in the Domesday Survey of 1086 as belonging to Lanfranc, Archbishop of Canterbury, and it remained a possession of the See until the Dissolution of the Monasteries by Henry VIII. At the present time the parish comes under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Oxford. Monks Risborough has the distinction of being the oldest documented Parish in the country; its boundaries being defined in a Charter of 903 AD which was itself a replacement of an earlier charter destroyed by fire. Parts of this boundary known as the Black Hedge, which can be seen from the Brimmers Road crossing the hillside to the east, still remain to this day. Known then as East Risborough the land was conveyed by Aethelfrith to his daughter Ethelgyth. The land later passed into the possession of monks of Christ Church, Canterbury and from this ecclesiastical association is derived the first part of its present name. The parish church of St. Dunstan stands behind a charming group of thatched cottages in Burton Lane, just off the Aylesbury Road. Beyond the church is the St. Dunstan’s Recreation ground containing an interesting l6th century Dovecote with a richly carved doorway, now a listed building that is testament to the age and importance of this parish.
Mill Lane still has its watermill house, but a windmill mentioned in the 14th century was moved to Radnage in 1650.
Five other settlements are included in the Parish, namely Alscot, Horsenden, Askett, Cadsden and Whiteleaf.
Monks Risborough is served by Chiltern Railways through a halt in Crowbrook Road. Trains run approximately hourly at peak periods between Aylesbury and Princes Risborough and continue to High Wycombe and London.
Monks and Princes Risborough became one civil parish in 1934 and were physically united by 1965, with the completion of the Wellington and Place Farm Estates.
See how the village of Monks Risborough has grown over the last 250 years, click here to view a series of historical maps of the area.